September 18, 2007

  • Stairmaster…went to do the Santa Monica steps.  It was a pretty good workout.  Did 10 of them.  It was nice watching the sunset although it
    was a little crowded.  There are actually
    two sets of stairs so you can do a loop if you want.  Not as many steps as
    Manhattan Beach but the steps seem steeper to me.

    Gym Membership…finally rejoined 24 Hour Fitness
    again.  I got a pretty good deal…I only
    pay $24/month and there were no initiation/set up fees.  I can quit anytime and I have access to all
    the active and sport clubs.  I’m going to
    start taking advantage of the swimming pool, racquetball courts, and the
    classes.  It’s nice to have somewhere to
    go work out late at nights now that the sun sets so much earlier.  Let me know if you’re also a member and want
    a work out buddy…I’m willing to drive to check out new locations.

    Sushi…went to Sushi Mon in Santa Monica. 
    Pretty cute place.  We had the
    rainbow roll, spicy yellowtail roll, spicy tuna hand roll, salmon, unagi, and halibut.  The chef also prepared us a special complimentary
    little dish.  The fish was pretty
    decent.  Washed the food down with a
    couple bottles of Asahi.

    New Toy…I finally went and bought my own
    kayak!  I got the Ocean Kayak Venus II
    from REI.  It’s only 11ft so it’s super
    light.  Not as stable but it makes up for
    it by being more maneuverable and faster to paddle.  I also ended up putting my roof racks on my
    car finally…yay!  I feel super outdoorsy
    now, lolz.  I’m going to get a fat dividend
    check this year since I dropped over $1k on buying stuff for this trip.

    Kayaking Santa Barbara Island

    Woke up at 5am on Friday to drive out to Ventura Harbor to catch the Island Packers ferry.  I don’t even get up that early for work so it
    was painful getting up initially but once awake I was pretty excited to be heading
    out.  The boat didn’t leave until
    8am but you needed to get out there an
    hour early to load stuff onto the boat. 
    You can get a frequent flyer card and your sixth trip with them is
    free!  The ride over took 4 hours since
    they made a stop at Santa Cruz Island to drop off some passengers.  On the way over we saw blue whales, fin
    whales, and a pod of dolphins.


    Santa Barbara Island coastline


    Lots and lots of birds

    The
    campsite is about 0.25 miles from the dock but you have to carry all of your
    stuff so I packed like I usually do for backpacking.  The trail is all uphill with many steps.  We setup camp and for the rest of the
    afternoon we hiked all around the
    Island.  There are
    about 6 miles of trails and we did them all. 
    The island is pretty small.  For
    dinner that night we had rice with sausage, tuna salad, pita bread and hummus,
    tortilla soup, and brownies for dessert. 
    The stars at night were so amazing…you could clearly see the Milky
    Way.  My only complaint was that it was
    so windy in the afternoons and at night…made it seem a lot colder than it
    actually was.


    Our campsite with an ocean view


    Elephant Seal Cove

    The next
    day we got up early and made breakfast before starting on our paddle all around
    the island.  The trip was about 6 miles
    in length.  The highlight was definitely the
    Sealion Rookery where they go to mate and give birth.  The sealions were so friendly, jumping up and
    splashing us only a few feet away from our kayaks.  We also explored
    Sutil Island where the waves were a lot
    stronger.  There were times when the
    kayaks in front of us disappeared because the waves were so big we couldn’t see
    them.  There were also a lot of pelicans
    and cormorants flying around.  We even
    went through one big sea cave which was fun. 
    It only took us about 2.5 hours to kayak all the way around.  The rest of the day I just relaxed and hung
    out on the dock talking to one of the volunteer rangers.  We had another potluck for dinner on Saturday
    night and I made linguine with clams in a vodka sauce.  There was also a vegetable and hummus
    platter, tacos, and cookies for dessert. 
    We also had mangotinis and lots of red wine.


    Just kayaked past Arch point


    Sutil Island


    Kayaking through the cave

    For our
    last day we did a short kayak back to the Sealion Rookery where we did a little
    snorkeling as well since there was a small kelp forest there.  We saw a dive boat and I wished I had brought
    my scuba gear.  The visibility was decent
    but the water was so cold that even in a full wetsuit I didn’t stay in the
    water for long.  Next time I definitely
    need to bring my 7mm wetsuit with a hood and booties.  I did see some Garabaldi, bat rays, and some
    other fish.  It’s always fun to swim with
    the seals since they are so graceful underwater and curious to play with you.  Got back and packed up the rest of our stuff before
    getting picked up by the boat at
    3:30pm. 
    It seemed like a long boat ride back. 
    Again ran into a lot of wildlife on the way as well…at this point I was
    feeling a little seasick from the rough waves so I wasn’t too thrilled about
    all the stops to watch the whales and dolphins. 
    When we got back we stopped at Soup Plantation for our traditional
    dinner.  I felt completely stuffed
    afterwards since I always get my money’s worth with buffets, lolz.  It was a great trip and I’m looking forward
    to checking out the rest of the
    Channel Islands.

Comments (11)

  • looks like fun...

  • Looks really cool. I've been planning to kayak the channel islands also. Does it seem like a guide is necessary?

    How windy was it? Were there any reasonable beaches that one could kitesurf on around there (ie...no big cliffs or offshore winds)?

  • wow, great view..never tried kayaking before

  • Ooh ...camping and kayaking sounds fun! 

  • sure...drive up here.

  • oh wow!!! looks like so much fun!!!!.....  i dont know what Im goin 2 do now that the sun sets so early.... i really need to keep up the work out.. especially if im going to look at least semi-hot for Halloween...  =P   i think im going to try and run every other day.... this weekend....hopefully if i just grab Draco n run around the neighborhood it will be safe enough in the dark

  • omg the Santa Monica stairs are killer.....

  • so 24 didn't put you on a long contract? that is a good deal.
    i need to get back into a regular gym...

    is kayaking strenuous?

  • no...money...and...no...time... =(

  • ryc:  when you do marry a chef, I don't think he will be doing it at home.  I think he will expect you to do it.  You know how men are!

  • another amazing adventure. great, now i want a kayak... :) and a roof rack...
    SM stairs do seem steeper than MB, but since they're short it doesn't feel as hard core. (10 reps'll make me sweat though!)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment